inexpressible and filled with glory


A Deathly Perspective
8 September 2009, 9:13 pm
Filed under: Books | Tags: , , ,

One of the books that I’m currently reading is Sex, Romance, and the Glory of God by C J Mahaney. I have thoroughly enjoyed and benefitted from reading this book and I commend it to all husbands. I agree with Josh Harris’ comment on the back cover – “There’s not a husband I know that won’t benefit from reading this book.” I really want to be the best husband that God can make me be to Katherine and I have been greatly encouraged to develop a passion for studying my wife, romancing my wife and as C J would say touching my wife’s heart and mind before I touch her body. My most heartfelt prayer is that God would give me the humility and grace to love Katherine as Jesus loves his people, that God’s love for me might overflow into my marriage and reveal the gospel to the world.

In the last chapter that I read, C J briefly discussed a biblical perspective on death. I remember that one of my friends told me that Spurgeon used to reflect on death daily, as a proper perspective on death will influence the way that you live. Here’s some of what C J had to say:

I don’t actually know if I will be alive at this time next week, much less next year. So I don’t assume I will be. I certainly have plans to be, and I structure my life as if I will be. But I seize today to make a difference tomorrow, in case, for me, tomorrow never comes. As James tells us, “You do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes” (James 4:14). That very uncertainty, rather than paralyzing me with fear, motivates me to try to serve my wife as best I can today by the grace of God.

This idea of an eternal perspective, a perspective that recognizes the fleetingness of man and the enduring purposes of God continues to come up in conversations that I have, in books that I read,and in my headspace. I think that having an eternal perspective transforms the way that we live day-in-day-out because we can then distinguish what is really important in life and therefore what our attitudes and priorities should be. Maybe that’s what it means to be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

Do you reflect on life’s fleetingness? What do you think it means to have an eternal perspective? How should an eternal perspective transform the way we live?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

