inexpressible and filled with glory


Sweeter Still
14 September 2009, 4:09 pm
Filed under: Gospel Community

If you haven’t been able to tell from my last few blog posts, I’ve been thinking about life from the perspective of death lately. What does it mean to live in light of eternity? How should we live knowing that we are ‘a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes’ (James 4:14)? I think that reflecting on death does change the way that you live and reflecting on eternity changes the way that you approach today.

It seems to be the way that the Lord works, but the reality of death was brought home to me over the past weekend. One of my good friends from LiVE and church lost his mum on Saturday morning. After a long battle with cancer, Alison Ollivier died on 12 September 2009.

The death of his mum has shattered my friend Snowy. I didn’t know Alison at all, but I am so sad for Snowy. Many people from LiVE are grieving with him, seeking to love and support him in this time of loss. I was talking to Katherine last night and we were observing what a beautiful thing it is to see that when one part of the body of Chrisrt grieves we all grieve together. ‘Weep with those who weep, rejoice with those who rejoice’ as Paul says in Romans 12:15.

You Are Not Alone

I was given the privilege of praying for Snowy and his family at church on Sunday night. I was nearly in tears as I prayed. One of our friends said to Katherine afterwards “I was so sad because Snowy is sad, and Brad is sad for him, and I am sad too”. I think this is a sign of genuine gospel community – rather than indifference and distance, we enjoy intimacy and deep concern for one another. It’s obvious that this is a dangerous community to be a part of, because not only will we celebrate our joys and successes together, but we will also share one another’s griefs and burdens. Together we trust in Christ and persevere until his return. We eagerly hold onto the hope of glory, which tastes all the sweeter in the midst of tragedy.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

