inexpressible and filled with glory


I’ve Arrived
20 October 2009, 1:43 pm
Filed under: Persecution, Travel

After nearly 30 hours of travel, 2 flights and a stopover in Vietnam, I am now in Seoul, South Korea. A number of things immediately caught my attention about this monstrous city, home to 15 million people and Asia’s fourth largest economy.

I walked off the plane into Incheon International Airport and was very surprised by the cleanliness. Everything was spotless. There was even a cleaner dusting the screens of the Arrival/Departure TVs.

Driving from the airport to Seoul, however, I was shocked as we moved from the cleanliness and modernity of the airport, to the industrial wasteland outside of the city. We drove past factory after factory spilling out fumes into the atmosphere and poluting the waterways of Seoul. I couldn’t believe that a country so focused on cleanliness in some areas, could also pump out so much pollution just around the corner.

And just as we turned another corner, rounding a hill, the industrial mess was gone, and the city of Seoul emerged before us, skyscrapers reaching for the sky, mountains overshadowing them, the valley floor revealing pockets of trees.

We are in a reasonable hotel for the week-long conference, which has started today. I was able to enjoy rest yesterday, falling into a deep coma-like sleep as soon as my head hit the pillow in the afternoon. I have had fantastic opportunities to meet VOM staff from all over the world and I have been greatly encouraged by conversations with many of these brothers.

One thing that has taken me by surprise is the weight of my longing for Katherine. I knew that I would miss her as I will be away for two weeks, but I didn’t expect the longing to come with such suddenness. I feel almost alone here, and my heart aches for my wife.

Although the time away from Katherine has been difficult already, it has also been really good for me. I have been able to spend extended times in solitude and reflection, reading the scriptures, journalling, reading and exercising. For this, I am extremely grateful as Katherine and I have come through a tough season of busyness, where my spiritual life has been dry. Now I thirst for the Lord as in a dry and weary land, and I am thankful for the abundance of his grace.

One final thing for which I am grateful, every night we have the opportunity to explore different parts of Seoul, so I won’t be spending the week just in the hotel.

Ok, back to business.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Brad,
Am so grateful for this blog so we can share in what you are going through. My heart soars and am filled with gratitude to God for you. I look forward to reading more.

Comment by Wendy

Nice post bro. Thanks for painting some of the picture of Seoul.

Will be praying for you over the next few weeks. And am looking forward to more updates.

Comment by Josh Maule

WHat a fantastic picture of arrival in Seoul. After being away from Jessica for almost 4 weeks, I can understand you pain. Kingdom business helps to take the edge off. Will be praying for you both.

Comment by Warwick

Great to hear from you brother, and the thoughts and feelings you’re having. Snowy and I will pray for you tonight 😉

Comment by samatw

Brad it has been inspiring to read of all your thoughts and exploits on your blog. You have so much to say in such a constructive and motivating way. God has grand plans for both you and Katherine and I look forward to participating and watching you both grow closer in your walk together with Christ. You are a real blessing. love Dad

Comment by Dad

Hi Brad. I had posted a comment here yesterday but for some reason it wasn’t added. Don’t think you can say I am not up with the technology so probably just finger trouble!! I am so proud of you and Katherine and the way in which God is blessing you in your lives and the great journey you have embarked upon. It is such a privilege to enjoy your journey as a passenger and sometimes travel consultant!!

I might say that all of your posts belie a maturity and understanding beyond your years and God has some great things planned for you both. You underestimate the true impact of your courage and strength in speaking out using the technology. You are an inspiration and a model of a man for the future and Katherine a woman for the future.

Hang on. The ride is worth it.

Love Dad

Comment by Dad

Hi Brad. I had posted a comment here yesterday but for some reason it wasn’t added. Don’t think you can say I am not up with the technology so probably just finger trouble!! I am so proud of you and Katherine and the way in which God is blessing you in your lives and the great journey you have embarked upon. It is such a privilege to enjoy your journey as a passenger and sometimes travel consultant!!

I might say that all of your posts belie a maturity and understanding beyond your years and God has some great things planned for you both. You underestimate the true impact of your courage and strength in speaking out using the technology. You are an inspiration and a model of a man for the future and Katherine a woman for the future.

Hang on. The ride is worth it.

Love Dad

Comment by Dad

Dad – thanks so much for reading the blog and for your encouraging words. Your comment went into spam for some reason and I only just found it now. I’m looking forward to enjoying the journey of life together for many more years to come!

Comment by bradkonemann

Does this comment work?

Comment by Laura

Yes. It does work. How are you?

Comment by bradkonemann

Hi Brad. I had posted a comment here yesterday but for some reason it wasn’t added. Don’t think you can say I am not up with the technology so probably just finger trouble!! I am so proud of you and Katherine and the way in which God is blessing you in your lives and the great journey you have embarked upon. It is such a privilege to enjoy your journey as a passenger and sometimes travel consultant!!

I might say that all of your posts belie a maturity and understanding beyond your years and God has some great things planned for you both. You underestimate the true impact of your courage and strength in speaking out using the technology. You are an inspiration and a model of a man for the future and Katherine a woman for the future.

Hang on. The ride is worth it!

Love Dad

Comment by Jeff Konemann

We love you Brad Konemann!

Comment by Love Brad




Leave a Reply

